Sunday readings reflection: Mercy trumps doubt

Sunday, April 16, 2023

https://bible.usccb.org/bible/readings/041623.cfm

Divine Mercy Sunday
Acts 2:42-47
Psalm 118:2-4, 13-15, 22-24
1 Peter 1:3-9
John 20:19-31

His mercy endures forever!
-Psalm 118

It is curious to me that we label Thomas as the doubter. In fact, throughout the Bible, there are faithful people who doubted, including Adam and Eve, Abraham and Sarah, Moses, David, Elijah,  and Zechariah. And, if I’m being honest, I, too, am among those who have moments of doubt. It would be reasonable that when I recite the Divine Mercy praise of “Jesus, I trust in you,” he could often answer, “I doubt it.”

But Jesus does not answer in that manner. Instead, he offers us his unending, enduring mercy and helps us overcome the doubt. We were formed by God’s breath, in His likeness and in His image, redeemed by the life, death, and resurrection of His Son, Jesus, and upheld and strengthened by His Holy Spirit. This is the mercy given to us. All we need to do is receive it.

My Lord Jesus, thank you for your enduring mercy and for the gift of salvation through you. May I return to you in faith and trust in your love, even when times are tough. Jesus, I trust in you. Amen

One thought on “Sunday readings reflection: Mercy trumps doubt

Leave a comment